Cairns Group and WTO  

The Cairns Group is a group of several countries who joined forces to campaign for the liberalisation of trade in agriculture.

Members of the Cairns Group includes:

  • Australia,
  • Brazil
  • Canada,
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Fiji
  • Hungary
  • Indonesia
  • Malaysia
  • Philippines
  • New Zealand
  • and Uruguay

These countries tend to have a strong agricultural sector and have suffered under the high levies imposed by the EU and US.

They have tried to work through the WTO to promote free trade and end agricultural protection within US and EU

Item added to cart.
0 items - £0.00