Expansion of European Union EU

The original European Union (then called the EEC European Economic Council) was composed of 6 founder members.

  • Belgium
  • France
  • Germany
  • Italy
  • Luxembourg
  • Netherlands

The EEC came into existence with the Treaty of Rome 1954. Since then the EU has expanded its borders taking in most European Countries. Enlargement has generally been seen as a positive thing. Although, there have been concerns raised over the expansion into Eastern Europe (disparities in income have encouraged cross border migration. The big question which remains, is whether to admit Turkey into the EU club. This is a significant step because of the different religious (Muslim) and cultural background of Turkey.

First Enlargement of EEC 1973

  • Denmark
  • Ireland
  • United Kingdom (The UK tried to join in the 1960s, but, De Gaulle famously said ‘non’)

Second Enlargement of EEC 1981

  • Greece

Third Enlargement of EEC 1986

  • Portugal
  • Spain

Fourth Enlargement of EU 1995

  • Austria
  • Finland
  • Sweden

Fifth Enlargement of EU 2004

  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Estonia
  • Hungary
  • Lativa
  • Lithuania
  • Malta
  • Poland
  • Slovenia
  • Slovakia

Hoping to Join in 2007-08

  • Bulgaria
  • Romania

Hoping to Join Accession talks

  • Croatia
  • Turkey

Notable Non Members of the EU

  • Switzerland
  • Norway

May Join EU Some Day

  • Albania
  • Belarus
  • Bosnia
  • Georgia
  • Macedonia
  • Moldova
  • Montengro
  • Serbia
  • Ukraine

Related Notes

Item added to cart.
0 items - £0.00